Skip to content

It’s a World Series Swag Giveaway!

November 26, 2012

The lovely folks at A+E Networks Home Entertainment/MLB Productions have offered us the chance to giveaway to three of YOU lovely folks a copy of the World Series film (on bluray or DVD) AND the World Series Collector’s Edition (also on your choice of bluray or DVD).  We’ll be reviewing the titles over the next little while, but we wanted to get the giveaway started now, because we’re looking forward to your answers.

Your answers to what, you ask? Ahh, well there’s the contest!

In the comments of this post, we want you to tell us the Giant, past or present, who you most irrationally love. The one with the emptiest trophy case, the least gaudy stats, the shortest tenure as a Giant, who you love(d) the most, and why. All the qualifying answers will get thrown into a randomized picker, but the few answers we like the most (exact number TBD based on total entries) will get an additional entry. You can also earn yourself a bonus entry by correctly guessing who I (Britt) would have said if I was entering.

Entries will be due by THIS FRIDAY EVENING at 7pm PST. Please make sure you include an email address in the little form when you comment (or just log-in to comment with a WordPress or Twitter or Facebook account) so that we have a way to contact you if you’re picked as one of the winners.

Thanks as always for reading and we look forward to reading your answers! Happy holidays!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2012 11:51 am

    No question in my mind that the player I love the most (irrationally so) is Noah Lowry. I MAY even have a huge keychain with his player pic on it. He was always broken and he may have one less rib than others, but he’ll always have a special place in my heart. Oh, it also helps that he’s adorable.

  2. November 26, 2012 12:01 pm

    My irrational love: Chris Stewart.

    During the long, odious season without Buster Posey, I found myself scanning the lineup every day to make sure that Stewart was catching. Perhaps it’s simply because I love catchers or have an inexplicable dislike of Eli Whiteside’s premature grey hair, but I started championing Stewart and his .204/.283/.309 slash like as if he were, well, Buster.

    When I made my first trip to AT&T Park (for my first Giants game, to boot), Chris hit his first major league home run off of Pittsburgh’s James McDonald. I think that really sealed the deal. Although I am supremely grateful for the trade that brought us George Kontos’s fine ass, I’ll always have an irrational fondness for Stewart.

    Bonus entry guess: Noah Lowry.

  3. Audrey Bigelow permalink
    November 26, 2012 3:04 pm

    My irrational love was for Darryl Hamilton. In 7th grade (1998) my choir got to sing the national anthem at a game at Candlestick. Before we were about to sing Darryl came up to us and talked to us all and I was wide-eyed and dumbfounded! In a group of kids that was mostly girls who didn’t love baseball this was a dream come true at the time. While my irrational love for him had started before this happened, this for sure did me in. He was so fun to watch too!

  4. Steve permalink
    November 26, 2012 7:35 pm

    Easy one: mine is Bill Mueller. It always seemed like the Giants would sign some aging veteran who would steal PA from Bill. (Charlie Hayes and Russ Davis are the two offenders I can think of). Despite the fact that it was Jeff Kent’s bat that replaced Matt Williams, Mueller was the man who replaced him at 3B, and I never felt like a lot of people really gave him enough credit. Then of course he went to Boston and won the World Series, which at the time seemed like a far-off dream. The awesomeness that is Bill Mueller was crystallized in a moment for me at a game I attended at Dodger stadium. I got seats on the 3B line, and there was a group of dodger fans sitting near me led by one particularly loud guy who spent the whole game ragging on Mueller. They were really laying into him and he never so much as glanced over. Well, sometime in the later innings, somebody on the dodgers hit a smash right now the line that Mueller laid out and dove for. He caught it for the 3rd out while fully extended and kind of rolled up to his feat looking straight at our area. He stared directly at the heckling ring-leader and just stared at him for a full 3-5 seconds and then jogged off the field. Our section got very quiet, and the heckler just turned around and looked at me in my Giants gear and said “I guess that guy is pretty okay”

    • Steve permalink
      November 26, 2012 7:36 pm

      Oh also, my guess for your (britt’s) guy is Jose Uribe. Because… Uribe! I am not sure how old you are, but if you were a Giants fan in the 80s like me, then Uribe would be a good choice too. I just like Mueller a bit more.

  5. Rebecca permalink
    November 27, 2012 12:28 am

    Coming out of lurkerdom for this, heh. Manny Burriss. I know, I know. As a ballplayer he’s… not good. But he’s just so nice! Always pleasant, always cheerful, always grateful to be playing, even when there wasn’t much to be grateful for, ahem. He’s a sweetheart, and I just could never resist him. Every time he’d get a start, I’d cross my fingers and toes and wish that this would be the time he’d pull it all together and be good. Oh well. Maybe on the Reds’ farm team he’ll transform into the next Vogelsong miracle?

    I even have an anecdote about how nice a guy Manny is, though it’s borrowed and not mine. A close college friend of mine lives in San Francisco (I’m a long-distance fan, alas) and was driving along one day when her tire just blew up. It was late, it was pretty dreary out, and her cell phone was dead, so she was stuck. And she was sitting there trying not to start crying and to think of what to do when this guy pulls up behind her. She started to freak out, figuring “This is how I get on the news,” when she saw that it was Manny Burriss, of all people. So random! But really, who could be less scary? The two of them poked at the tire and figured they wouldn’t be able to change it, so instead he called AAA for her and stayed with her until the tow-truck came. Apparently they mostly talked about food. I never thought I’d be jealous of a tire blow-out, but, there you are. Manny Burriss.

    I also loved Eli Whiteside and Chris Stewart about equally, but that’s not irrational. I mean, catchers. *shrug*

    My guess on your answer would be, hm. How about Noah Lowry? He seems like your type (in a good way, I swear! *g*).

  6. Randy F permalink
    November 28, 2012 5:25 pm

    My pick is Barry Zito. Before this year he definately had the least gaudy stats. But, how can you not like someone who’s uncle is Patrick Duffy (of the TV Show “Dallas” fame), had parents who performed with Nat King Cole and can throw a nasty curve ball with his non-dominant hand?

  7. December 1, 2012 10:33 pm

    I would have to say that my guy would be Brian Johnson. He was Bay Area born and raised, and loved the Giants about as much as anyone that was in the seats. He may not have been an All Star, and had a fairly spotty career overall, but in ’97 in the bottom of the 12th he hit a long, loud fly ball to left field against the LA Dodgers (a game I was at), to tie the two teams atop the West. Whats not to love about a guy that beats the Dodgers?

  8. December 1, 2012 10:48 pm

    Tsuyoshi Shinjo. Unortunately I can no longer remember why. I do remember arguing with all my friends that he was much better than his numbers. And I recall he almost had the chance to become a memorable name in baseball history, and give me the opportunity to tell all my friends “I told you so”. Down 4-1 in the 9th inning of Game 7 of the 2002 World Series he was called on to pinch hit with 2 men on base. A long fly would tie the game and make him an instant hero. Alas, Troy Percival struck him out, and the Giants had to wait 8 more years to bring the World Series to San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

