Skip to content

Gradually, things are put behind us.

March 17, 2011

Listening to “I Left My Heart in San Francisco” in the background as Doug Greenwald wraps up the Giants mostly uneventful win over the Angels was remarkably cosmically fulfilling.  Our boys got their title.  They’ll get their rings and we’ll raise that flag in a couple of weeks.  No one can hold our drought over us anymore.

When people first started talking about last season putting the demons of previous seasons, 2002 especially, to rest, I was skeptical.  It couldn’t undo it.  It couldn’t give that championship back to the guys who deserved it.  It couldn’t undo my favorite Giant, the one who made me really, truly love this team, never getting to be introduced as “World Series Champion first baseman and six time Gold Glove winner J.T. Snow”.  It couldn’t put Robb Nen’s shoulder back together.  It couldn’t somehow go back and make that era about a championship and not about Barry Bonds and, now, the drama and outrage and scandal surrounding him.

But going in to this season, I find myself in the unfamiliar position of being amazingly devoid of the usual pre-emptive resignation that no matter how good ST seemed, it’d all come off the rails at some point, that someone would get hurt, there’d be ill timed bullpen implosions, someone would come down with a case of the yips, SOMETHING.  There was always something.  Always.  Instead there’s confidence and faith.  There was always hope, there was always love, but it’s not just wing and a prayer, “maybe we’ll get lucky”, “they’re my boys and I love them no matter what”.  They’re good and respected and prepared and an actual, legitimate threat to repeat.  There’s a better than average chance we’ll get another Rookie of the Year who gets to take a post-season ride in his first year with the big club.  There’s a better than average chance one of our unreal pitching staff will win the Cy Young.  There’s a chance our golden child, man beyond his years, “where has this kid been all our lives?” catcher could win NL MVP.  There’s a chance more than one of those things could happen.

Maybe it’s the afterglow of last season still talking, maybe I’m setting myself up for an agonizing Fall, but I’ll eat my hat if NONE of the above happen.

I wonder at times like this if this is what 2005 was like for Red Sox fans.  Is this the beginning of turning into “that team”?  Are we going to look up in a few years and realize that somehow, while we were dancing in the streets at our reborn and resurgent team, we became what we had resented in other teams?  I hope not.  I don’t think so.  But at the moment, I’m enjoying this feeling too much to care.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink*
    March 17, 2011 10:10 pm

    I think Patty said it well when he said, “It’s almost scary how well we’re playing.” And I know what you mean, I keep feeling like I should be wary of the Spring success, that it won’t last, that this is just a fluke. But I think that we DON’T feel that way because this Spring is almost a seamless continuation of the end of last season. I’m so excited to see what they’re going to come up with this season. 🙂

    • March 17, 2011 10:15 pm

      How seamless the transition from last fall has been is an excellent point. There’s not the usual sense of rebuilding that spring has, that sense of “okay time to get back to work”. It never really stopped, the guys came in to camp practically where they had been in late October and ready to dominate, it really is almost scary. I’m sure eventually we’ll get used to this feeling, but man, it’s freaking sweet right now.

Leave a Reply

