Skip to content

“It is designed to break your heart.”

May 26, 2011
by

The San Francisco Giants lost a heart breaker tonight. They made up 4 runs in the 9th inning, 2 of them with 2 outs. And then they lost 7-6 in the 12th. I don’t care. I don’t think anyone cares.

Because at the “Play Ball” luncheon before the season a player thanked an old Marine for his service and asked if he would take a picture with him, just the opposite of how it usually is, and we just watched that player lie on the ground and scream.

That’s Buster Posey. That’s who I want to think of him as right now. Forget his hitting. Forget his arm. Forget his pitch calling. He’s a husband and a good man and a Randy Winn-stamped class act…and a soon to be father.

Oh, he’ll be fine eventually, I know. This isn’t the end of anyone’s world. But watching that happen live wasn’t heart breaking. It was having your heart ripped out and stuck in a blender. It was Robb Nen all over again except with everything shoved into one moment and the baby-face of a 24 year old not-quite-rookie splashed over the top of it.

This sucks. That’s all I’ve got. It doesn’t matter how long he’s out, or who’s replacing him. This sucks.

And now good night. Or something. Heck, I’m probably the only one awake.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bill permalink
    May 26, 2011 7:46 am

    I’m just glad I didn’t see it.

    • May 26, 2011 6:55 pm

      Honestly I wish I hadn’t. Hardest thing I’ve ever had to watch in sports.

Leave a Reply

