Skip to content

Jersey Showdown – Poll! (And Links)

June 10, 2011

To be fair, if someone told me to design a Tim Lincecum jersey, I’d probably stare at them in confusion for a while and then point to a replica jersey and go “Umm…you mean like this?” If they then told me I was supposed to mess with the design of the numbers, use a nickname, and add a picture; you would probably see something that said “SEABISCUIT” (because that name never got enough use), with orange polka-dotted numbers and Timmy in a bowtie standing beside the TARDIS. 

Visual arts are not my strong point.

So perhaps I shouldn’t be criticizing the efforts of Tim Lincecum, Matt Cain, Cody Ross, and Pablo Sandoval, as I can hardly so much as draw an acceptable figure. But I will admit, when I saw the four jersey designs, all I could do was laugh. Not meanly just in a…”it’s a good thing you’re baseball players and not wanna-be fashion designers” sort of way.

They’ve grown on me though…I have to say. That “55” isn’t too bad.

Anyways, here are links to all four jerseys, as the Panda apparently wasn’t around to model his:

Tim Lincecum
Matt Cain
Cody Ross
Pablo Sandoval 

And here’s the poll: Camouflage or harlequin? Picture or no picture…? Those are the questions…

Other Notes:

  • The draft! It happened! Here’s a far better write-up than we could do by people who know more than us on the subject: SF Dugout – 2011 Draft Breakdown.
  • My incessant ramblings are not the only words on Ryan Vogelsong.  There’s some good stuff from the SF Chronicle here and Philadelphia’s equivalent here.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

